Never Say What You Will Never Do

I find it funny to hear people say, “I would NEVER (and fill in the blank of whatever it is they can’t envision themselves ever doing). I may still be quite young by some standards, but the one thing that I have lived long enough to tell about is: Never Say Never. The truth is, none of us knows what the future holds. None of us knows the situations that we may be placed in where we find ourselves desperate, vulnerable, weak, hurting, or maybe even under the influence of some mind-altering substance.

In the past, there have been some things in other people’s lives that I would look at and quickly place judgment on. How could they do that?! Not far down the line, I’d find myself in that very same situation, doing that very same thing, and on more than one occassion. These experiences brought about humility for me and I am much more understanding that as humans, we don’t and sometimes can’t always function with a sound mind.

Leave a Reply

