A take on the current state of Hip Hop by DMC of Run DMC: Has hip hop lost its artistry?

DMC 

 

 

 

 

Legendary Hip Hop Artist DMC (Darryl McDaniels) seems to think so as he comments that Hip Hop has been watered down by major corporations and what was once a multi-dimensional genre has become one-dimensional. “It was inevitable that hip-hop became commercialized but along the way our power got taken away. Now you got the same 12 records on radio being played over and over again. Lil Wayne, Jay Z ain’t hot, it’s just they’re programmed so many times people are brainwashed.” DMC commented in an article posted today on Reason 4 Rhymes.

This is one topic that will be argued for years to come and I do agree with him partially. Personally, I am a fan of Hip Hop and I respect its originators, but I must admit I am a bit too young to fully appreciate original Hip Hop music because I just didn’t grow up in the era that Hip Hop began. My earliest memories of Hip Hop: Biz Markie “Just A Friend”, LL Cool J “Going Back to Cali” , Salt N Pepa “Push It” (and even then we’re talking YOUNG) when I really didn’t have too much control over the music I listened to. So what do I consider MY era of Hip Hop? Pull out some early 90’s music and now you’re speaking my language. I’m a fan of all kinds of music so my early years didn’t just circulate around Hip Hop in particular, but for the sake of the topic I’ll stick with it. This is when we come into Snoop, Dr. Dre, Warren G, Salt N Pepa (in the 90’s), Bahamadia, 2Pac, Biggie, Nas (my all time favorite), Eazy E, Bone Thugz N Harmony, Ice Cube, and of course the list goes on and on. That was Hip Hop to me. 

NAS2

The point I am trying to reach is that even in my era of Hip Hop, things had already changed from the days of original Hip Hop music. To put things into perspective, all genres of music have been innovated over the years. Look at the R&B songs now compared to the “Old School” R&B of the 70’s and 80’s that my parents grooved to. Gospel music has even taken a wide turn from the days of Shirley Caesar and Mahalia Jackson, right? As DMC put it, the change is inevitable but I believe there are still SOME artists out here making great music, it’s just different, that doesn’t mean it’s bad music. However, the respect for the culture of Hip Hop is slipping away and some artists don’t have the right to be labeled as a “Hip Hop artist” so I understand his plight. But what will we do about it? Can Hip Hop be saved?

Full article available to read: http://www.reason4rhymes.com/2013/08/hip-hop-news/dmc-of-run-dmc-lil-wayne-jay-z-aint-hot-people-are-brainwashed/

Leave a Reply

